Home Spa Night

28 Jun

I am burning up down here!

As hard as it is to believe, this move south may make me long for Milwaukee winters. Not only does this heat beat me down but it also proves to be a great challenge to my hair and skin. I am in dire need to need to experience first hand just what the term “chillax” really means. My current health and beauty products have lost this current seasonal battle. And with no other good retail concoctions at hand, I elected to throw open the refrigerator and try a yogurt oatmeal facial mask and an egg white oil conditioner.

Here are the recipes I tried…

Facial Ingredients:

1 T oatmeal, finely ground
1 T live, organic yogurt (skip the flavored stuff)
A few drops of honey

Add the yogurt to the oatmeal in a small bowl and mix together. Warm a few drop of honey. To do this, warm a spoon under hot water for a minute, then add a few drops of honey to the spoon.

Conditioner Ingredients:

1t Honey
2T Olive Oil
1 Egg Yolk

Mix honey and olive oil. Beat in egg yolk. Massage into hair in small sections. Wrap head with shower cap or warm towel and leave on for 30 minutes. Rinse out and then shampoo hair as usual.

Laying back in a tub of cool water with the slight smell of lavender in the room and yogurt on my face, egg in my hair – the drain of the day passes away and I emerge with silky hair, smooth skin chillaxed.

At Home Spa Night was a huge success!

Leave a Reply

